Two intense groups followed the intense Open Bracket
The first two groups of the most stacked Intel Extreme Masters tournament in StarCraft II history have concluded and the first four Quarterfinalists have made their way through.

Groups A and B have finished and the first batch of Quarterfinalists has been decided. Eight players battled it out today for four spots in the next round of the competition, whilst every single one of them stood a good chance, outstanding performances from Rain, HerO, Patience and jjakji mean they move through to the round of eight.


What could be called the Group of Death saw Rain, HerO, ForGG and HyuN face off in a phenomenal series of matches, even further amplified by the fact that no one could possibly predict the group’s outcome. In the end, SK T1’s Rain and HerO, who had both already faced off in the winner’s match, managed to overcome both ForGG and HyuN to be the first two players to qualify for the Quarterfinals.


Group B started with a surprising performance from American Terran, qxc, that looked to put him straight into the winner’s match of the group. Patience made a comeback to then not only beat qxc 2 - 1, but defeat the second Terran in the group and possibly biggest favourite to make it through, jjakji, and end up the first to make it out of the group.

Another very close series was put on by qxc as he faced Dear, but unfortunately for the American he just could not overcome the Korean Protoss powerhouse and dropped out of the tournament, leaving Dear to face jjakji for a rematch, after he had initially lost to him 0-2.

Jjakji and Dear then put on a series much closer than expected - going into a third map there was action until the last minute, but as his previous peformance against the Protoss had us expect, jjakji turned the last map into his favour and became the fourth player to make it to the Round of 8.

The tournament will continue tomorrow with the two remaining groups C & D, featuring players such as Jaedong, Polt and INnoVation. You can find the groups, schedule and more information on our dedicated tournament page.